The Saved Boards feature gives users the ability to create Insights boards, add various charts with pre-selected filters to them, manage who can access them and more. This enables Kapost users to see their most important charts all in one place.
You can access this feature by clicking on the "Saved Boards" tab in the Insights app. When you navigate to the Saved Boards tab for the first time, click on the "Get Started" button to start creating boards. If you have already created or have access to a board, click on the green + sign on the top righthand corner of the page to create more.
When you click to add a new board, you will see a pop-up asking you to fill out your new board's information. Fill out the Title, Description (optional) and choose a color from the dropdown, then click "Create Board."
You will then be taken to your new board. If you have not yet added a chart, you can click the green "Get Started" button to do so. If you have added charts and wish to add more or edit the ones you have, click the "edit" button on the top right of the page.
You will be taken to the edit view of your board. To add a chart, click "Add Chart," which is located at the top left hand side of the page.
A modal will appear, prompting you to choose a chart to add. The tabs at the top of the modal mimic the tabs in the Insights app. Upon clicking one of them, you will see the same chart options that are in the Insights tabs today. You can then select one and add it to your board. To learn about what each board measures and how you can adjust them, read this article.
Once you've added your chart, you can use the sidebar to make adjustments. This sidebar will appear anytime you click on a chart. To close it, click the x on the top right. You can make adjustments using any dropdown filters that appear on the edit panel, as well as the Filters feature which will give you a selection of all the filters available on your instance in a new window. You can also edit the title and descriptions of each chart on a board. To learn about the adjustments supported by each chart, read this article. The adjustments you make to each chart will stay in place when you click the save button, and will remain anytime you access the board.
Clicking on the "Settings" button at the top of the page will open up the settings for your board. Here, you can change the board's name, change the board’s color, add, edit or remove the board’s description, and add, remove and rearrange charts.
Any time you make changes to your board or the charts within it, click the green Save button on the top right of the page before navigating away.
Once you've saved your board, you can exit edit mode by clicking the back button to view the board in preview mode. Your charts will appear in the order in which you added them and all of your saved changes will be applied.
After you create your board, you will see a “Manage Access” option on the top bar next to “Edit.”
If you click on this option, a pop up will appear that allows you to give other users or groups access to your board. Use the drop down to add users to the access list, and, once they are added, click the “x” next to their name if you wish to remove them.
Once the user is added, you can choose whether you want them to have view-only access or if you want them to be able to edit the boards. Giving a user edit access will allow them the same editing privileges that the owner has. It is also possible to give ownership to another team member by using this dropdown.
You can also choose whether or not to notify users that they have access by checking the “Notify listed members and groups with new access” option at the bottom.
If you want to make sure that users with editing access to your board can’t give other users access, make sure the “Prevent members with editing privileges from updating access” is checked.
Finally, you copy and send or embed a link for users with access to bookmark.
It is also possible manage access from the Saved Boards view in Insights by clicking the “Manage Access” icon on the board you wish to give access on.
Please note, if you choose to reassign all of a user’s tasks to another user using that feature on the member’s page, their board access will be reassigned as well.