Follow

Create a Content View

What Is This Feature?

With Saved Views functionality, you can create and save customizable searches and control who else has access to these views. Create a saved view and choose to share it only with certain team members or groups, and you can decide to grant access to view, edit, or own a particular saved view by managing access to it.

How It Helps

Saved Views in your Content Catalog let you quickly and easily find the content in Kapost you care about, without having to search or filter each time you navigate to the catalog. You can still search and filter through all the content when you need to.

Best Practices

  • Favoriting views and color coding is a powerful way to organize your Saved Views to group similar ones together.
  • You can specify who has access to each Saved View with Manage Access functionality to allow managers to create saved views and share them with teams.
  • Keeping task names consistent. This enables you to easily create calendar views that represent that step in the workflow.
  • Watch this video tutorial to learn additional ways that Saved View can help you manage initiatives, campaigns, and more in Kapost.
  • Use the “Filter by Followed Content” filter in the Content Catalog to show you just the content that you’re interested in receiving updates on. Use this filter as the basis for a new Saved View in the Content Catalog to have a view to go back to when you need to look at just the content in flight you have a stake in.
  • Don’t create new Saved Views on an ad hoc basis, or else you’ll end up with a too-long view list to sort through. Saved Views should be quick to find.

How It Works

The Saved View functionality works the same away in your Idea, Content, and Initiative Catalogs and the Content Calendar. Watch a short video tutorial on using saved views here.

Navigate to your Content Catalog from your home dashboard by clicking on the pencil icon in the lefthand column. Your current view will be shown in the title on the top left of your page.

2018-08-16_11.48.27.gif

There is a drop-down menu for content saved views that you created or were created by others at your organization and shared with you. The different symbols you see on saved views titles tell you their access level:

  • Lock: Private, only the owner can grant access to others.
  • Group: Owner and other members of an instance have access.
  • Building: Accessible to all members of an instance.

When you select a Saved View from the list, it will display on your page.

2018-08-16_11.55.36.gif

Click on the heart icon in this list to mark a Saved View as a favorite view. You can also find and click the heart icon next to a saved view’s title. Your favorite saved views are the views that you come back to most often, and once marked they’ll appear at the top of your Saved Views list for quick and easy access.

2018-08-16_11.58.05.gif

Saved Views are characterized by the filters and columns you apply. You can always change the filters and columns applied to a saved view if you’d like to update it.

When you want to create a new Saved View, apply the filters and columns you want displayed and click on the Save as New icon at the top right of your page. Give this view a distinct title and assign it a color if you use a color coding system.

2018-08-16_12.02.57.gif

You can change aSaved View color any time by clicking on the left side bar of color next to the view’s title. Click Save to record your changes.

2018-08-16_12.07.34.gif

Change the name of a Saved View by clicking on its title and entering in the new title.

2018-08-17_11.25.54.gif

Pro tip: Use the “Filter by Followed Content” filter in the Content Catalog to show you just the content that you’re interested in receiving updates on. Use this filter as the basis for a new Saved View in the Content Catalog to have a view to go back to when you need to look at just the content in flight you have a stake in.

2018-12-05_12.43.21.gif

The Manage Access button lets you decide who else can view and edit theSaved Views you create and own. If you don’t own a Saved View, the Manage Access modal will tell you who owns the saved view and who else can view or edit it.

2018-08-17_11.28.08.gif 

To delete a Saved View that you’ve created in the Content Catalog, choose that Saved View from the list and click on the Delete icon. The Delete icon will only appear on views you own.

Screen_Shot_2018-08-30_at_3.07.40_PM.png

Note that you can’t delete or modify the All Content Saved View, which is a Kapost default saved view.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments