Follow

bit.ly FAQs

Bit.ly URLs will appear below the published URL on a published document.  

 

How do I generate a bit.ly for a published URL?

This article will walk you through it!

 

I published an asset and my bit.ly didn't generate.  What happened?

First, make sure that your asset is a document body type. See below.

Bit.ly's are not generated for HTML body types (which are generally used for blog posts) or Social Media body types, which include Facebook and Twitter.

 

I published a document and my bit.ly did not generate.  What happened?

We usually see this happen when an asset is manually published to get a URL before an asset is added. In other words, a user will create an asset, manually publish it and then update the URL with the current URL of an asset they already have, then add a document.  This process makes it impossible for Kapost to know to generate a bit.ly.

Publishing steps to ensure a bit.ly is generated:

If you are publishing directly from Kapost:

1. Upload file into Kapost body

2. Publish

Note: If you need to update the document, make sure the updated version of the document has the same file name as the original.

 

If you already have an asset published and are moving it into Kapost:

1. Upload file to Kapost body

2. Manually publish

3. Update Published URL with real URL of your asset

Note: If you re-publish to the Kapost Cloud or another site that you use to house your documents, the bit.ly will change.

 

Why does my bit.ly point to an old version of my asset, even though the published URL points to the updated version?

 

This will sometimes happen if you published your post before adding a document into the Kapost viewer. Publishing and uploading in this order will break our bit.ly integration, and the bit.ly will not update.

Why did my bit.ly change when I republished?

This happens when you manually publish first, and then use the regular publish functionality the second time you publish.  The reason this happens is that Kapost reads this action as publishing to two different destinations.

To clarify, you will see two buttons in the pop-up after you click publish:

The Mark Content as Published button allows you to publish your content manually so that registers as published in Kapost and updates your workflow.  Users often do this if they have an asset online that already has a URL and they need to house it in Kapost.  After manually publishing, you can update the URL with the published URL of the asset that is already online.  

The Publish button is generally used if the asset has never been published before, and you are pushing it live directly through Kapost to the Kapost Cloud or another site you have integrated with.

Publishing using one method and then the other will result in different bit.ly's.

 

What about promotion bit.ly's I see tracked under our Social Insights?

These are different bit.lys than what is attached to a published URL, but they can make social tracking easier.  More on them here.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments