The Kapost Document Annotations feature eases the challenge of managing reviews on documents. The feature gives users annotation capabilities on nearly every document type in a single collaborative interface. With document annotations, you no longer need to comb through and consolidate multiple (often duplicative) edits, comments, and responses. Additionally, users can:
- Add and view annotations directly on a file
- Make, edit, and delete comments
- @ mention other users to ask for input, edits and more
- Reply within threaded conversations, keeping feedback organized
- Resolve annotations when edits and changes are made or dismissed
- View annotation history as needed across resolved comments or previous versions
Viewing and Adding Annotations:
You must be in Annotation Mode to annotate documents or view existing annotations. To start Annotation Mode, click the callout icon in the document file bar. The number in the callout icon signifies the number of annotations that are unresolved in the document.
Click anywhere on the page you'd like to add an annotation. Consecutive, time-stamped numbers are assigned to each annotation. Add your comment in the text box and click Post Comment. You have the ability to @ mention users in your comments, triggering a real-time email notification. When the recipient clicks to view the comment from their email, they will be taken into the content in Annotation Mode.
Users who are following discussion on a piece of content will also receive a discussion notification for added comments.
When a comment is posted it will be visible in the panel on the right side of the page. Click on any annotation number and the corresponding comment will be highlighted in the side panel. Clicking a comment in the panel will also scroll the page to corresponding annotation number.
Replying and Resolving:
You can reply to a comment in the side panel which will start a threaded conversation. Notifications will be sent for any @ mentions and users who are following the content's discussion will also receive updates.
When viewing threaded conversations, the number in parenthesis is the number of comments in the thread. You'll also see the number of other users involved in the conversation.
An annotation can be resolved by clicking the checkbox next to a comment. This will hide the comment; however, the comment can be viewed and restored again if necessary.
To view or restore resolved comments, check "Show Resolved" at the top of the page, which will surface resolved comments. Any resolved comment can be changed to unresolved by simply unchecking the Resolve checkbox.
Viewing Annotations across Revisions:
To view other revisions, select the dropdown menu at the top of the page. The number in parenthesis represents the number of unresolved comments on that revision.
Note: Viewing a past revision in Annotation Mode doesn't restore it in the body of the content asset.
Other Details about Annotations:
- You can only edit or delete your own comments, however you can always resolve or reactivate comments
- Kapost doesn't capture each comment in the content asset's activity feed, but you'll see events when comments are added; clicking "View Comment" will take you into annotation mode to see the actual comment(s)
- You cannot use the Document Annotation feature on video, audio, or HTML body types
- Email approvers can access Annotation Mode and add, view, comment, reply and resolve annotations. They cannot access past revisions.
Updated File Revision Bar:
When using Document Annotations, you'll notice that the way we display files on a piece of content has changed. These changes should make it easier to organize and view files and also introduces some new functionality. Updates include:
- Only the most recently uploaded file displays in the viewer. Past revisions can be accessed from the More menu by selecting View Revisions
- Within the revision window, you can download or preview past revisions, restore them so they appear in the viewer, or delete them. The callout icon next to each revision indicates the number of unresolved annotations and the version number is also stored for each file that's uploaded.
- In the More menu, you are able to lock a file by selecting, Manually Lock File from the dropdown. When a file is locked, users cannot download, upload, restore or delete revisions. The user who locked the file is able to unlock it at any time by selecting Unlock and admins are able to unlock any file as well.
- Files can be downloaded by selecting Download from the More menu or by clicking the file name.
- The user who uploaded the file and the date/time they uploaded is always captured.
- New revisions can be uploaded by selecting the upload icon.