What Is This Feature?
With Manage Access functionality, Kaposters have a more granular system to ensure that each individual user in your instance can quickly obtain the resources they need. Access can be restricted when necessary, and you can also share (with view-only access) certain resources publicly with non-Kapost users at your discretion.
How It Helps
Managing multiple teams in Kapost is often necessary in order to coordinate the various moving parts of programs and integrated campaigns. While this is great for alignment, it can get messy quickly.
The Manage Access feature makes it easier for multiple teams to work together seamlessly and align on what's critical—while preventing information you don't need from getting in your way. You'll find the Manage Access functionality throughout the platform (Boards, Plans, and Saved Views, to name a few places) where you can:
- Specify individuals as owners: Owners are the users who can delete an item and can decide who else on the team can manage access to it. Only owners can transfer ownership to other users.
- Specify individuals or groups who can edit or view: Members with edit access can create, update, and save changes. Members with view access will only be able to view.
- Automatically notify groups and individual team members when you grant access.
- Share private or public links: A public link allows you to share information with non-Kapost members.
Different symbols on the icon designate access level:
- Lock: Private, only the owner can grant access to others.
- Group: Owner and other members of an instance have access.
- Building: Accessible to all members of an instance.
- Globe: A public link is available to share with non-Kapost users (only applicable in Canvas Plans and Calendar Views).
- Keep plans and charts private until you're ready to communicate them with your team.
- Create catalog and calendar views that track content that's specific to a team or business unit, and make sure those views don't clutter the space of other teams or business units who don't need to see that work.
- Create private, customized task views for yourself of only your tasks or the tasks of a team you manage.
- Organize agency or third parties into groups in order to control what they can access with minimal clicks.
How It Works
You'll see the manage access icon throughout your Kapost instance. Click on it to manage the access for the specific task you're working on (like a plan in Canvas).
When you click on the Manage Access icon, a pop-up modal will appear in which you can see and choose who to give access to as well as what level it should be. You can select individuals, any groups that have been configured, or all the members who have access to a certain application in your instance. View access will be given by default, so change the drop-down to the pencil icon to grant edit access.
Note: Only the owner can update access unless they have unchecked the setting to prevent members with editing privileges from updating access. In that case, users with edit access can update access for others.
The pop-up modal gives you the option to choose whether or not to notify users in your Kapost instance of changed access privileges as well as the option to prevent members with editing access from granting access to additional users (only available to owners):
Also from within the modal, you can copy a link or embed code to share with users.
Remember to click Update to save your changes.
Note: If you choose to reassign all of a user’s work to another user from the member’s page, their access will be reassigned as well.
Manage Access for Saved Views in Studio
As nice as it is to be aware of what other teams have going on to coordinate and repurpose content, it can also get messy when different teams all have their own specific Saved Views. Saved Views in Studio allows you to quickly and easily cut through all the content, initiatives, and calendar options that exist in Kapost to find just what you care about without having to search or filter each time you navigate to those pages.
You can create a saved view and choose to share it only with certain team members or groups. And you can decide to grant access to view, edit, or own a particular saved view. Calendar views can be made public and shared with non-Kapost users when that level of visibility is required.
Watch this short video to see how to use manage access for Saved Views in Studio:
(If you're wondering about the new look of Saved Views in Studio, check out this help article or fast forward the video to 1:40 to hear about what's new.)
If you skipped the video, note that the controls for Saved Views are on the right side of a view. Use these controls to create a new saved view, delete a saved view you're the owner of, or manage the access of a saved view to share it with others:
Manage Access in Canvas
With manage access in Canvas, you'll be able to specify which individual team members or groups should own, edit, or view plans and their associated charts (access from the plan level is inherited by the charts within in). You can also share a dynamic view of any plan or chart with non-Kapost users to better align all stakeholders.
When you're working in Canvas, find the Manage Access icon in the top righthand corner to open the pop-up modal.
Here, you can control team members' access to plans you own: assign ownership, define the members and groups who can view with no editing capabilities, or edit plans. Edit access grants the ability to add or remove charts, update chart configuration, and upload plan attachments.
You can also view who has access from within your charts in Canvas:
You can share private or public links to plans and charts built in Canvas. A public link allows you to share information with non-Kapost members:
Manage Access for Saved Boards in Insights
Saved Boards enables you to create charts to analyze the performance of your content operation and use these insights to improve future strategy. Once you begin building your saved boards and have added charts to them, you'll have the ability to manage the access of your boards. These cannot be made public to non-Kapost users.
As soon as you create a board within Saved Boards, you'll arrive at a page where you can begin editing your board and adding charts. Find the manage access icon in the upper righthand corner, or from the edit view in the More drop-down menu.
Once you click on Manage Access, the pop-up modal will appear that will let you choose which other Kapost users or groups can access your board and what level of access they should have.
It's also possible to control access privileges from the Saved Boards view in the Insights App via the Manage Access icon on your board: