What Is This Feature?
Required tasks denote content workflow tasks that must be completed before a piece of content is published.
These tasks’ names and descriptions can’t be edited in the workflow, and they can’t be dragged-and-dropped into a new position.
Required tasks are managed by a platform Admin in settings.
How It Helps
For large organizations and enterprises, visibility, standardization, and governance are major challenges when it comes to orchestrating content and campaign production. While content teams should operate with autonomy, it’s important to maintain workflow standards to ensure teams meet key milestones.
Required tasks ensure that critical tasks aren’t overlooked or changed as content is completed—and only content that’s fully approved gets published. They help you standardize and govern your content workflows, so your content goes through all the necessary steps prior to being seen by your target audiences. Standard task names also strengthen your filters and task tracking in Kapost.
- Required tasks make shared tasks more powerful. Shared tasks—tasks that have the same name and are included as standard tasks in workflows across content types (like “Assign Task Assignees and Deadlines”)—maintain consistency in your content workflows, which is critical for filtering, reporting, and viewing content tasks across the platform, like in your Canvas timeline charts. Since task names and descriptions for required tasks can’t be edited in workflows, Admins should work with stakeholders to determine the required tasks in their platform and manage them in settings.
How It Works
Admins can manage required tasks for specific content types in their Content Type and Workflow Settings.
- Appear on workflows on content details pages.
- Aren’t available on initiative and localization workflows.
- Can’t be applied retroactively to existing content.
In the Workflow tab on a content type, each workflow task has a grey asterisk if the task is not marked as required, or red, when it’s marked as a required task. Click on the asterisk to mark or unmark a task as required.
- You’ll also see the required task asterisk when you click on the pencil icon to edit more task details.
When you update required tasks on a content type in settings, Kapost will ask you what content you’d like to update. Your updates will only apply to content that’s planned or in-progress.
- If you’ve only updated a content type with a new required task or task order, you won’t see the below modal.
Required tasks in content workflows are marked with a red asterisk to indicate they must be completed.
Required tasks can’t be deleted from or reordered in a workflow, unlike standard tasks, which can be dragged and dropped to new positions. If a user tries to move a required task, Kapost will alert them that this action can’t be done.
A required task’s deadlines and assignee(s) can be edited in the content workflow, but not its name or description.
A required task in a content workflow must be completed before the content can be published. You can still publish content as a draft.
- If required tasks aren’t completed, you can publish the content as a draft from the modal that Kapost shows you when you click submit or publish. For videos, you can publish as private or unlisted when required tasks are incomplete. The content won’t be published and marked as completed in Kapost until all required tasks in the workflow are completed.
Keep in mind: Your platform may be configured in a way that indicates that custom fields on content are required to complete, but the content can still be submitted or published if they’re not completed. However, content with incomplete required tasks overrides this and will prevent the content from being published.